On March 17, Iowa Gov. Kim Reynolds declared a statewide public health disaster emergency in response to the state's coronavirus outbreak. The proclamation includes the restriction of in-person gatherings of 10 or more people along with the temporary closing of several businesses in the arts, culture and entertainment sector.

Most of the public gatherings listed on the Hoopla calendar are canceled or postponed through the end of April. Please check with event organizers to confirm the status of events you see listed.

A virtual option has been created to post and search for those events and programs that are offering an online gathering opportunity for our Hoopla readers. Enjoy!

STEAM Saturdays

  • Details

  • 2/22/20
  • 10 - 11 a.m.
  • Free
  • All Ages
  • Categories

  • Kid Friendly

Event Description

Saturday mornings are for investigation! Elementary aged children and parents/guardians/ care-givers are invited to participate in a STEAM project that they will work on individually or with others.

Participants will be encouraged to share their findings or work with the group. We will also celebrate the scientists, mathematicians, engineers, and artists who inspired today's project.

Saturday, December 14 - Engineering: Building Challenge

Saturday, December 21- Math: Calculating Distance, Rate and Time

Saturday, December 28 - Making Snow and Slime

Saturday, January 4 - Computer Science: Making a Cardboard Guitar Play

Saturday, January 11- Art: Poured Canvas Art

Saturday, January 18 - Physics: Bubbles and Balloons

Saturday, January 25 - Ecology: Biomes vs Habitats

Saturday, February 1 - Biology: Building our Own Cell

Saturday, February 8 - Robotics: Make Your Own Robot

Saturday, February 15 - Acoustics: Seeing Sound

Saturday, February 22 - Art: Creating Optical Illusion Art

Saturday, February 29 - Optics: Explore Light with Prisms

We always recommend confirming details before attending. We hope to see you there!

Keywords